The Utah Expungement Act dictates the process for erasing records related to arrests or convictions within the State of Utah. Expunging a record involves the court issuing an order to seal all records associated with the arrest, investigation, detention, and conviction in the criminal case. Sealing a record ensures that it becomes inaccessible to the public, preventing viewing or copying of the information contained within it.
- Obtain a certificate of eligibility from the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) website.
- Bring the original copy of the certificate to the Midvale Justice Court within 90 days from the issuance date.
- Complete the appropriate packet pertaining to the resolution of your case.
Expungement Petition Filing Fee $135.00
Certified Copy for Expungement Varies by case
When is Expungement Allowed?
Any alcohol-related traffic offenses - 10 years from closing date
Class B misdemeanor conviction - 4 years from the closing date
Class C misdemeanors and infraction convictions - 3 years from the closing date
Arrests without filing charges - 30 days from arrest
Proceedings commenced and dismissed - 30 days from the closing date
Acquittals - 30 days from closing date
Signed Expungement Order
You are responsible for the service of the signed order to various agencies. You will receive 5 copies of the signed order to distribute to the agencies.
Utah's Clean Slate Law
Class B misdemeanors (typically limited 3) - 6 years from the date of adjudication
Class C misdemeanors, infractions, and minor regulatory offenses - 5 years from the date of adjudication
Acquittals - 60 days from order of acquittal
Dismissals with prejudice - 180 days
Dismissals as a result of a plea in abeyance agreement - Subject to same wait periods as convictions
For more information on Utah Clean Slate law visit: Expungement Tool Kit - Mayor's Office of Criminal Justice Initiatives | SLCo