If you have a traffic citation in Utah, you must contact the Court within 14 days from the date of issuance.
You have several options to consider:
- Pay your ticket
The majority of traffic infractions do not require a mandatory court appearance. You have the option to pay your citation through mail, online, or in person at the court. We accept various forms of payment, including cash, checks, money orders, and major credit cards. If you have inquiries regarding the due date of your citation, reach out to the court within 14 days from the citation date for clarification via email or call 801-567-7265.
- Deferred Prosecution (No Traffic School Required)
This program offers the opportunity to dismiss your traffic case after a 12-month deferral. To qualify, you must be 21 or older, with no recent traffic violations, accidents, or more than one moving traffic charge. Your citation must meet eligibility criteria. You must hold a Utah Driver's License (not Commercial) and apply within 21 days of your citation date. After 12 violation-free months, your case is dismissed. Apply online through the Utah State Courts.
- Traffic School (Plea in Abeyance)
Our court offers a plea in abeyance option for basic moving traffic violations. Attend an approved traffic school course to have your guilty plea held in abeyance and potentially dismissed. You may be eligible if you meet these conditions:
- This is your first moving violation in the past year.
- You possess a valid Utah Driver License (non-commercial).
Set Up Payment Plan or Challenge the Ticket
Withdrawal of Plea(s)
Bailable & Common Traffic Offenses
The Uniform Fine/Bail Schedule below may change at any time. For an updated Uniform Fine/Bail Forfeiture Schedule, please visit the Utah State Website.
Speeding Violations (MPH over the limit)
31+ Mandatory court appearance
Speeding in School Zone
Mandatory Court Appearance
Other Moving Violations
Driving on the wrong side of the road (left of center) $130.00
Improper lane change $130.00
Failure to give signal $130.00
Fail to yield right of way/failure to yield left turn $130.00
Fail to yield to emergency vehicle $160.00
Failure to stop for school bus 2nd offense w/in 3 years Mandatory Appearance
Failure to stop for school bus 3 or more offense w/in 3 years Mandatory Appearance
Following too close $130.00
Improper backing $110.00
Failure to obey traffic control device $130.00
Failure to stop for stop sign $130.00
Careless driving $110.00
HOV (high-occupancy vehicle) $260.00
For all accidents add $30.00 to the original bail
Seat belt violations
Failure to wear seat belts $45.00
Failure to use a child restraint $45.00
Common Driver's License and Vehicle Violations
Expired driver's license $50.00 suspend $10.00 with proof of valid license
No valid license in possession $50.00 dismiss upon proof of valid license
Denied license $1250.00 (mandatory court)
Registration and other legal requirements: Improper registration $110.00
No or expired registration $50.00
Failure to display plates $50.00
Faulty Equipment (vehicle unsafe) $50.00